Mothering Matters

Over the past few days several people have posted articles and blogs on FaceBook with the same theme……mothering matters.  As I was reading those posts I realized that the daily little things in mothering have worn me thin.  And being “thin” makes mothering feel like an old holey sock……used up, stinky, tattered.

Washing dishes, cooking food, cleaning up messes, changing diapers……….makes a mommy stinky. 

Teaching, training, disciplining…….makes a mommy feel used up.

Resolving conflicts (the same ones over and over and over again), kissing the same boo-boo (that’s probably no more than barely visible) over and over again, listening to the same story over and over again (or answering the same question over and over and OVER again) makes a mommy feel tattered.

But it’s those things that matter…..they matter to our kids and they actually matter to us.  As a mommy our job is to pour out this love into our kids……love that says I will be used up, stinky, and tattered for you……..because you matter.

Today I made breakfast……..and yes, I tailored it to the likes of each of my kids…….because they matter!

Today I peeled, cored and cut up ½ bushel of apples AND I  had my middle kiddos help because teaching them matters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I left the many rolls of toilet paper that some adorable (and naughty) 2 year-old decided to unroll in the hall closet AND I shut the door……because she matters and spending time reading the same book for the 100th time was WAY more important.

 

 

 

 

 

Today I broke up a fight and spent time actually listening to what caused the fight and then practiced conflict resolution with my kids………because in life you will have conflict and handling it well matters!

 

 

 

 

Today I decided to find joy in the things that make me feel like a worn out sock and then I went over to my mom’s house for a visit……….because everyone needs their mom no matter how old they get!

 

Yes, I know my pictures are missing my big boy……he was away this week camping with his Boy Scout Troup 289 at the beach.

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment