Sorry Dude…..New plans

Yesterday morning I grabbed my phone from the nightstand before I got out of bed……yes, my eyes were barely open, and I read Matthew Chapter 2. It’s a very familiar passage and very fitting for this time of year. But I was stuck as I read the words…….Over and over an angel comes to Joseph and tell him, “sorry dude, plans have changed.” I mean, just think about it. Here’s Joseph diligently growing his carpentry business. I can just imagine he’s working hard to have enough money to be able to “afford” a wife and family and……… bam………angel. “Your girl Joseph, she’s having a baby that’s not yours but you need to marry her anyway.” Well that changes things just a little, right?!?!?

But it’s not just before Jesus is born, it’s a whole bunch of times after…….Wealthy dudes come with gifts and then……… bam…….dream. “You have to move Joseph and not just across town. Try another county! And don’t wait, leave right now….as in the middle of the night.”

So finally the bad king dies and it’s safe to return home………bam……..dream again. “ok moving time again Joseph. Pack it up and let’s hope people need houses or tables or whatever back in Israel so you can keep this family alive.” Finally, they are going home……I don’t know how long they were in Egypt, but I do know that moving is a huge pain and I can’t imagine doing it with only a donkey and a cart (ok they might have had a better means of transportation, but somehow I doubt it).

So Joseph thought he was going home, but bam again!!……..yet another dream. “So Judea is not the greatest place (king’s son reigning and all) so give Nazareth a try.”

Each time God moved Joseph to a new location it was “So that what was spoken by the prophets might be fulfilled……..” I wonder if Joseph knew this…….That each move was designed by God for a very specific reason. Do you know this truth? Do I know this truth?!?!? I pray that God will give me faith like Joseph. He never questioned God. He just obeyed.

I wonder what new “place” God wants me to “move” to this year. Will I obey like Joseph, quickly and without making a huge fuss. Will I obey even if I can’t figure out why in the world God would want this or that to happen. Will I obey not matter how daunting or difficult the task. Will I obey even if it seems crazy.

The prophets might not have foretold my life, but God has each day, each good work, planned for me from the foundation of the world.

 

 

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment