So tasty!

I don’t often (huuummmmm, maybe ever) post recipes on my blog, but this was the most delicious salad that I’ve ever made.  And I’ve NEVER made a salad dressing before……oh man, was it good!

Anyway, last week I went to a Ladies Salad Supper (which by the way was a wonderful evening of fellowship and encouragement listening to the testimony of one of the woman in our church).  So I was hunting online for a recipe for a peach salad, since I had an abundance of peaches.  As I scanned the recipes I kept checking the ingredients list to see if I had at least 90% of the ingredients in my fridge or pantry and that’s basically how I chose this recipe!!  But it’s a keeper for sure!!  Just look at this salad…..it’s beautiful and so tasty!!

Ingredients

  • 4 medium ripe peaches, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 6 cups spring mix salad greens
  • 4 cups torn romaine
  • 1 small red onion, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced cucumber
  • 6 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Directions

  • Slice three peaches; set aside. Cut the remaining peach in half; place in a blender. Add the sugar, lemon juice, vinegars and salt; cover and process until blended. While processing, gradually add oil in a steady stream.
  • In a large bowl, combine the salad greens, romaine, onion and cucumber. Pour about 2/3 cup dressing over salad and toss to coat.
  • Transfer to a serving platter; top with sliced peaches and bacon. Drizzle with remaining dressing; sprinkle with pecans. Yield: 12 servings.

 

I did make a few adjustments to the salad.  I used salted almonds in place of the pecans and I left off the red onion because I don’t really care for onion in my salad, but I must admit that a red onion would add a lot of beautiful color to the salad.

 

 

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So tasty!

  1. That salad is so pretty!! I will have to give it a try when I get my peaches. We love some salad in our family, red onions too. 🙂

Leave a comment