Is it mad or sad?

 

With my kids sometimes sad looks like mad.  Tonight after a little time of discipline with my second son I asked him why he was behaving in such an unkind way.  He replied, “well I feel very sad right now mommy.  I miss my chickens!  And I’m afraid you are going to die.  So I wrapped my arms around his and we snuggled for a bit and I asked, “why do you think I’m going to die?”  Without skipping a beat he replied “well, you are getting pretty old.  Thanks buddy, thanks a lot!!  Sweet moment over!

It’s moments like this that remind me to stop and truly listen to the needs of my kids.  Life is hectic and topsy-turvy for us right now.  I have one very needy child……the squeaky wheel……..just because the others don’t squawk as loud doesn’t mean they don’t have true needs that are wanting to be heard.  Listening takes time, but it’s time well spent.  It’s hard for me to remember that sometimes with kids their sad comes out looking like mad.  Honestly, I think that’s true for a lot of us.  It’s so much easier to be mad.  Sad is vulnerable.  Sad is scary. Sad feels a bit out of control. But sad has healing.  Sad is actually good.  So today, may I sow with tears remembering that one day I will reap with shouts of joy!  Shouts of joy that say, “the LORD has done great things for me and I am glad!!”



Psalm 126:

When the Lord restored the fortunes of Zion,
    we were like those who dream.
Then our mouth was filled with laughter,
    and our tongue with shouts of joy;
then they said among the nations,
    “The Lord has done great things for them.”
The Lord has done great things for us;
    we are glad.

Restore our fortunes, O Lord,
    like streams in the Negeb!
Those who sow in tears
    shall reap with shouts of joy!
He who goes out weeping,
    bearing the seed for sowing,
shall come home with shouts of joy,
    bringing his sheaves with him.


This entry was posted in Adoption, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment