Value Add!

Five years and six months……that’s how long I’ve been a stay-at-home-mama.  It hardly even seems possible.  I feel so often that it was just yesterday that I packed up my cardboard box with pictures, plants and stuff that I’d collected during my 6 years of work and joined the ranks of the SAHM.  Funny, I don’t really remember my last day in “Corporate America”.  I was too excited to begin my journey into mommyhood…….too excited and terrified!!

The thing about being a SAHM……..long hours and no pay!  Sometimes it feels like I have no “value add”to our home economy.  Stephen “goes” to work and I “stay” to work.  So from time to time I ask him “do you want me to get a part time job?”  There’s this tiny part of me that almost hopes he says “yes!” because getting a paycheck and using my professional skills seems very rewarding after a day of wiping butts and breaking up fights!

By the way, Stephen always says that I work hard enough at home without an outside job……..he’s so nice! So instead of leaving home in the evenings I get to “lounge around” the house and blog.

I’m not sure why, but on Saturday I felt like I was actually a “value add” to our home economy.  For the longest time I’ve wanted to do something (other than coupons) that will save us grocery money (one of our biggest budget expenses), but I honestly did not think I could do it.  My sweet mama came over and we worked and worked canning peaches!! My first ever canning day!!  I could not have done it without my mama.

At the end of the day we had 56 quarts of beautiful peaches.  I felt so accomplished!!


Natalie was a huge help!  She ran all sorts of errands for us…..no job was too little or big for her!

 The very first 7 jars hot out of the canner!!  

 

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment