Happy Thanksgiving

Psalm 107:21-22 (ESV)

Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love,
   for his wondrous works to the children of man!
And let them offer sacrifices of thanksgiving,
   and tell of his deeds in songs of joy!

Happy thanksgiving!

This year I am especially thankful for the way God has opened my eyes to my own sinful heart AND to the astonishing joy of having those sins forgiven through Jesus Christ.  I have learned that “the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God” (James 1:20) and that God alone can change our hearts (Proverbs 21:1-3).  God has selected “good works” for me to do each day and there is enough time in each day to do what GOD wants me to do:

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”  Ephesians 2:10

Every person is an “all natural rebel”.  And a mom’s greatest human resource is prayer (from Lies Woman Believe by Nancy Leigh DeMoss).

Psalm 58:3 (NIV)
“Even from birth the wicked go astray;
   from the womb they are wayward and speak lies.”

But God……what would we do if not for God???

“But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.” Ephesians 2:4-5

God has taught me so much in training my children.  Lessons I would much rather not learn!!  Because they are really lessons about myself…..and personally I’d rather think I was a pretty good person.  But I’m not.  And only because of Jesus can I come before a Holy and perfect God.  Because He only sees Jesus when He looks at me.  That is enough.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment