What Works for Me

What works for me Wednesday—  I like reading blogs with ideas on what works for otherfamilies.  It give me good ideas from traditions to organizationto getting your house clean!  So I thought I would share a “whatworks for me” today on laundry.  I have struggled with laundryissues ever since we had kids.  I don’t know why, but for somereason it’s been a HUGE battle that I normally lose…….until about 6weeks ago.  My old laundry plan was once a weekwashing/folding/putting away and the day I picked was Monday.  Ireally like the idea of doing laundry only one day each week, but withthe addition of Natalie, one day was not cutting it!  Plus by thetime we got to Sunday, some weeks my boys did not have any “nice”clothes that were clean!

The week we got back from the beach, I “stumbled” on my new laundryplan!  And I love it!  Thursday is wash and dry day. All I do is sort the dirty clothes, wash and then toss them into thedryer….and close the laundry room door!  By the end of the day onThursday I have a laundry room full of clean dry clothes.  Then onFriday mornings I have one hour set aside for folding and puttingaway.  And the great part is, that I almost always get it done in one hour! I give the boys a creative project (like coloring, play-doh) to do atthe table in the kitchen and I sit on the floor in the living room andfold.  Natalie likes to play in the baskets, so it’s awin-win!  After the clothes are folded Carlos and Jeremiah carrytheir clothes upstairs (Jeremiah only takes his socks…otherwise I’mfolding two or three times) and the putting way is done in just a fewminutes!  

I picked Thursday and Friday as laundry day because we are almostalways home for the majority of the day on Thursday and the morning onFriday.  Plus we have lots of clean clothes for the weekend! The only downside to once a week laundry is that my boys need a lot ofpairs of pants….like 5 or 6 pairs of play pants.  But the hugeadvantage is that there’s no piles of laundry (Clean or otherwise)laying around the house for a week!

This entry was posted in Works for Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment