Tomato Stake

Today was a cold and dreary sort of day with bad attitudes and snotty noses. After lunch and story time I decided rest time would be appropriate. We’ve not had a rest time in forever……I think a year or more (honestly). I was hoping a bit of solitude would bring some peace, but alas once the hour was done……it did not! And the whining continued, like a monstrous wave, rolling with mighty force. And then I remembered a lesson learned many years ago.

Being a parent to toddlers and teenagers makes for a very interesting parenting dynamic! With toddlers you use less words and more action. With teenagers you carefully weigh each word…..I’m not sure you use more words, but (at least for me) a lot more thought goes into those words. And rightly so because the issues are bigger! My teenagers are wrestling with the meaning of life and my toddler is wrestling with not being able to play with her dolls during lunch time! Sometimes the wrestling with life becomes the overwhelming dynamic and I forget that my toddler and middles need simple. VERY SIMPLE!

Poor Jade was having a very tough afternoon! The whining and crying was about to drive me crazy…..I mean I started dinner at 3:30 and we didn’t eat until after 6. Maybe that doesn’t sound so bad, but we were only having mac-n-cheese with sweet potato fries and broccoli…….not gourmet by any stretch. Every five minutes toddler girl was crying or hitting people (gasp, yes my sweet baby girl), poking them with pencils, screaming because Jeremiah didn’t want to play the game her way……and on and on.

Finally I had an ah-ha moment. Several years ago when I had mostly toddlers I read a blog or article about tomato-staking your kids. I’m sure I won’t get the fine details right, but the basic idea was that if they would not make wise choices away from your immediate presence than they should be tomato-staked to you. So, that’s what I did for my toddler……..she brought her blanket into the kitchen, spread it on the floor to make a “perfect picnic table” and I let her play on the blanket with a few small toys and stuffed animals. It was amazing! The whining almost ceased and the crying completely stopped. I don’t think there was much smiling, but it was a good start.

So if your toddler is having a hard time making wise choices consider tomato-staking!

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato Stake

  1. Kevin says:

    You could also try a puppy – I hear they work wonders.

Leave a comment