Segregation No More

This morning on our way to church I sat in the middle seat of our van so I could feed Jadyn her oatmeal…..she slept in a bit and missed breakfast.  After she was done eating, she reached over with her adorable chubby hand and grabbed hold of mine.  I sat there looking at that beautiful brown hand grasping my pale hand and I was overwhelmed with the miracle of that moment.

On January 14, 1963, George Wallace in his inaugural address as new governor of Alabama said, “segregation now, segregation tomorrow,segregation forever…….”  Only 50 years have gone past since that day, but the thought that filled my mind was……..”50years ago this beautiful moment (every day in fact) would have been stripped away because of segregation.”  God in His amazing ways worked a miracle in the American culture, so that today, I get to hold the chubby brown hand of MY baby girl……I’m her mama, her REAL mama and our home will ring with shouts of “together now, together tomorrow, together forever.”  And may Martin Luther King Jr.dream ring true that my five little children “will live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

This entry was posted in Adoption, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment