abundant food

Yesterday I was feeling rather “complainy”.  It was breakfast and cleaning up the kitchen.   It was the “Monday” mess that needed cleaning up and then snack time and then cleaning up snack time and finally the house was clean and then it was time to fix lunch and after lunch time to wash dishes (AGAIN) and sweep the floor (AGAIN).  And I felt grouchy about all the work that I HAD TO DO!  The same job 10 times a day……why must my kids eat so often!?!?!  How much time I would have to do other things if I didn’t have to prepare food ALL-DAY-LONG!  Wah, wah poor, poor me.

After cleaning up lunch I started reading aloud to Carlos(one of his school books) In Search of the Source by Neil Anderson.  Neil and his wife Carlo were Wycliffe missionaries to the Folopa people in Papua New Guinea.  In chapter 2 Neil tells the story of going out on a hunt with the village men.  They trek all day to the hunting grounds ,build a shelter to keep the rain off and hunt a little (they kill wild pigs, acassowary bird, a python and a tree kangaroo…..just what I was thinking about cooking up for dinner!).  Every day these people in Papua New Guinea worked and sweated for their food and get barely enough to survive and here I was complaining about preparing food already in my refrigerator!  It’s so easy to forget and take for granted the BLESSING of abundant food.

And last night for dinner God blessed us with a fresh salad from straight from our garden!

 

 My five mess making, food eating blessings!

 

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment