Pick me a strawberry

Friday we decided to skip “school” and opted for some practical education……strawberry picking! The plan was to go early…..my “early” plans don’t usually work out all that great and today was no exception, but we arrived and that’s the important part.  I plopped Jadyn down in our strawberry row and for the next hour she was very happy munching on strawberries, leaves and straw.  The picking was pretty good this year and the berries were delicious.

We picked a total of 2 buckets…..I picked a full bucket and Natalie and Carlos each picked about a half a bucket.  Jeremiah and Ben picked a combined total of 20 berries……not really exaggerating either!!  But they ate their weight in fresh strawberries and were pretty content picking and eating until the very end.

The patch where we were picking had very tall wild onions growing alongside the berry plants.  The kids asked why the onions were there and I speculated…..”perhaps they keep away pesky bugs”  or “maybe the onions help keep the wild animals out of the strawberry fields”.  In the end, I decided to find out why the onions were there…….so when we paid I asked! Jokes on me….turns out the onions are in the field because they’ve not been able to get rid of them!!  Pesky old wild onion weeds.

This entry was posted in Life, School of Smooches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment