Adoption update

So lately I’ve been completely absent or fluff blogging…..have you noticed?  Just can’t seem to focus and get creative.  Honestly, it also goes back to……”if you can say something nice, don’t say anything at all!”  And I’ve been feeling very much in the spirit of complaint and every blog I write in my head sounds like whining, grumbling and complaining…….and who really wants to read that, right?  So what’s got me going on all the complaining?  What else…..waiting!

Honestly, I’m going a little crazy with waiting.  My poor brain can only handle so much and I’m pretty sure 16 months is just too long.  I know a TON of families have waited longer, MUCH longer, but I’m so sick of the waiting and the unknown!  I almost said to Stephen the other day, “let’s just call it quits.”  I know deep in my heart I don’t mean that at all…..I’ll wait for ten years if I have to, but sometimes it just feels so weary.  See what I mean……grumbling!!

Last week we took a little trip with my sister and I got to snuggle with my 9 month old nephew…….he even fell asleep in my arms a couple of times.  And I knew……my heart so longs to hold and snuggle another little baby.  I love my four blessing, but I also would like to hold my fifth.  Sometimes I think that must sound selfish when God has blessed us with such good gifts in Carlos, Jeremiah, Natalie and Ben, but I don’t think it’s wrong to want more of God’s blessing.

So, here’s our adoption update: 

Yep, that’s pretty much what it looks like……nothing!  That’s the hardest part….just waiting.  We are in the midst of updating our homestudy.  We will be meeting with our social worker for the 800th time this coming week.  We’ve updated our backgrounds clearances and I am still praying over my fingerprints…..my fingers don’t like having their “picture” taken, but I’m hoping this time it will only take once.  We still have 5 more medicals to get done…..Stephen this week and four kids early next week.  And then the updating paperwork is completed!!

Next week Stephen and I will be flying to Tulsa for a few days to attend the Waiting Family Seminar with our agency Crisis Pregnancy Outreach.  The agenda is jam-packed and looks amazing……plus I love being with other adoptive families.

Oh, you might be a little confused that I said our agency CPO…..well we are currently working with two placing agencies…..Life Choices and CPO.  I found CPO late last year after many hours of late night internet surfing.  CPO is very similar to LC in that they are first a pregnancy center, providing help and support to woman.  And sometimes that help and support comes in the form of adoption.  Stephen and I both feel that this type of agency is the best because we can feel sure that the woman are given the help they need whether they choose an adoptive family or to parent their baby.   The other really cool thing about CPO is that they are a completely volunteer based organization……they do not have a single paid staff member!  That is amazing!! 

Anyway, we are still actually hoping and praying that our baby will be born in Memphis because we do love Life Choices the most   But that may not be where God has baby “Hope”.

I guess for not much of an update that turned pretty long!!

This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment