Delightful day

We had a simply enjoyable day outside enjoying a taste of many cultures today!  It’s been several years since we’ve been able to attend Local Colors, but this morning I decided to take the kids and have a special outing since Stephen was away at a retreat (for church).  We had the best time and stayed for the entire event!!  We arrived just as Greece was marching across the platform in the Parade of Nations.  Carlos and Jeremiah were SO excited that the very next country was Guatemala!!  They both mentioned several times how glad they were that we arrived on time to see the Guatemalan flag.

When the representatives from Sudan crossed the stage, Natalie looks up at me and says, “Mommy, those people are browner than me!”

Carlos was a little disappointed that in all the food tents the closest country to Guatemala was Mexico…..But he was super happy to eat two mangos on a stick, even if they were Mexican mangos!!  And being a true Fenzel Carlos ate about 12 bags of popcorn!!  Hey, it was free and he LOVES popcorn!

As we were coming back from one of our trips to the food vendors a woman hands me a coupon for a tanning salon (thanks a lot lady for calling me pale).  Carlos, who misses nothing, asked me what the piece of paper was for and I said, “it’s for tanning”.  Carlos wrinkled up his face and said, “what’s tanning?”  So I explained that people with white skin want to have brown skin so they go to a tanning salon to try and make their skin brown.”  Carlos looked at me and said, “why do they want brown skin?  I want white skin.”

I also had explained that the sun can turn your skin brown.  Carlos thought about this for a minute and then said, “oh the sun turns your skin brown and the moon turns your skin white!”  Well, not exactly!!

Stephen called me around 3 to let me know his retreat was done and he met us at Local Colors and watched the last hour with us.  Then we headed off for some tasty ethnic food at O’Charley’s (because I was craving a salad)!! 

It was a delightful relaxing day!

This entry was posted in Adoption, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment