Trip to the ER

Well, we broke the five year standing record……first trip to the ER.  No blood , broken bones or stitches, but just one sick little girl.  My Natalie girl is no complainer, a beautiful character trait, but no so good when you really don’t feel good.  During church this morning Natalie just wanted to stay snuggled up in my lap and I noticed that her breaths were coming really fast.  By the end of our church service, I was getting pretty concerned.  It seemed like Natalie’s whole body was heaving and struggling for breaths.

Once we got home, I tucked her in on the couch and she fell asleep, so I thought perhaps that would help regulate her breathing, but it didn’t……she was still taking about 50-55 breaths per minute.  I had called our on-call pediatrician and he recommended we take her immediately to the ER, so we did.

And all the way there, I kept repeating in my head, “God is good all the time”.  And you know, HE IS!  He placed several people in our path at the ER who were so kind.  The gentleman who was the “patience service” guy (I have no idea what his actually title was……..but he took us from place to place as we progressed from the waiting room, to triage, to an actual room) was the father of a friend from highschool!

The nurse in triage was so gentle with Natalie and during the course of collecting medical history (which for adopted kids is sometimes complicated by lack of information), she said that she had a nephew adopted from Guatemala and a niece from Ethiopia!  What a blessing!

We went from the waiting room, to triage, to a room in about 20 minutes (guess I’m going to have high expectations for our next ER visit…..which I hope is no time soon!).  The doctor who saw Natalie was also very kind and gentle.  She ordered an X-ray to see if Natalie had pneumonia (my biggest concern after Google-ing) and the X-ray was clear…..Praise God!

Natalie also got a breathing treatment, which seemed to help with the rapid breathing and her coughing and we will be following up with her pediatrician this week.

I’m so thankful for God’s goodness!  And He is good all the time!

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment