HomeSchool Thursdays

Curriculum overload!  That’s usually how I feel when making decision about what curriculum to use in teaching my children.  There are so many, many choices.  And none of my children have been “cookie cutter” in their learning style and interests.  But so far, the best math I have found for my three oldest students is Math-U-See.  I love Math-U-SeeThe kids (mostly) love Math-U-See.

Carlos struggled through A-beka math for 2 years and totally did not get the concepts.  He was falling more and more behind and struggling so much!  Math is rather abstract when it’s just numbers written on paper and Carlos does NOT do abstract……I mean, totally-does-not-do-abstract.  And I’m excited to say that we are seeing such improvement with Carlos and his math!

At the beginning of the school year I started Jeremiah and Natalie both in the Primer  book.  Natalie did a several weeks worth of lessons, but it was getting harder and she lost interest around the time of our Christmas break.  Since she’s only 3, I decided to focus on Jeremiah, knowing that she would probably express interest again.  And sure enough, about 2 weeks ago Natalie started asking to “do math” and so we started back where we left off at Christmas.  And I’ve been AMAZED!  She is excelling.  Natalie does not have mastery of writing numbers, but the great thing about Math-U-See is that writing numbers is not the focus, building numbers is!  So even though she can’t write the number 5, she can build numbers that included the number 5. 

Not sure what I’m talking about?  Check out this video of Natalie building numbers!

This entry was posted in School of Smooches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment