Papa Harris

I can see it in my mind’s eye.  The small square table off to the side in the bright country kitchen with 4 chairs covered in green vinyl.  The metal bottoms of the chair legs scrape against the golden-yellow flower pattern of the linoleum floor.  I can still hear the sound of the scraping on the floor as my Papa moves his chair in toward the table.  And then I hear his voice.  The dinner prayer always starts the same……”Dear heavenly Father……”  Whenever I hear those words it’s as if they should not be spoken without first the scraping of the chair.  On the table is a round silver canister that holds a cake of piping hot corn bread.  In front of my papa is a bowl of butter milk just waiting for some corn bread to be dunked into it’s rich creaminess.

When I think of my Papa I remember these two things:  Corn bread and milk and how he prayed.

And tonight he is enjoying a feast in heaven and no longer needs prayer to communicate with his heavenly Father.

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment