Apples and Folded Nicely

I was determined to get some of my 1.5 bushels of apples peeled, cored, into freezer bags and finally into the freezer.  Carlos helped me by washing the apples and Jeremiah and Natalie were content to help me by handing me the clean apples, so I could peel and core them.  But after so many apples, little hands are tired and little minds are bored, so off they went to play.  After a little bit I realized that it was super quiet around the house…..not a good sign.  I finished up the apples I was working on as quickly as I could….when all is quiet time is of the essence!!  I found my little scalawags diligently working.  They were so proud and pleased that they were “helping” mommy. 

 
Sitting on my bedroom floor is a laundry basket filled with neatly folded clothes….waiting very patiently to be taken down to my basement and stored away in the various “clothing size” totes.  This job I have been procrastinating on for about 6 weeks (I’m really very ashamed to say that this basket has been in my room that long).  But this job ranks right down there with scrubbing the shower!  Since I have 4 children there are at least 4 different sizes of clothing in the basket and since two of my children wear different size pants and shirts that will make at lease 6 different sizes in the basket and since I was cleaning out their closet and decided that every article of clothing that was not the correct size should be removed from each closet and drawer……there are probably 8 or 10 different size clothing in that basket.  (did I just write a run-on?).  Whew, just thinking about opening up 8 or 10 different totes has worn me out!!  Now you see why the basket is still sitting on the floor in my room.  And let me not forget to mention that the totes are stacked on top of each other and the sizes I need are always on the bottom…..can you explain to me how that happens?!?!?!?

Ok, so back to my darlings.  So proud.  So pleased. Yep, they have taken those neatly folded clothes and spread them out on my bed and are neatly re-folding them!  I took a deep breath, closed my eyes, put a smile on my face and asked, “whacha doing?”  Jeremiah happily replied, “we’re folding the laundry for you mommy and we’re doing it so nicely.”  And God gave me the grace and wisdom to say, “yes, you are folding the clothes very nicely.”  Because indeed for a 2-year-old and a 4 year-old the clothes were folded very neatly!!  So in that instant I decided, they were happy, they were helping, they were working (and really the “damage” was already done)….so I let them at it and I returned to my apple freezing project.  Working together Natalie and Jeremiah folded laundry for about 30 minutes and I was able to get 12 quarts of apples in the freezer!

    
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment