Trials

Last night Stephen and I were sitting on the couch discussing the upcoming week.  And as I was filling him in on what my week was looking like, I realized that we would be going somewhere EVERY… single….day.…this week…..uhgggg!  I’m a stay at home mommy and I like to do just that…..stay at home!  But some weeks somehow slip under my “stay at home radar” and get all filled up and crazy!  Crazy busy “going” weeks make for a stressed out crazy mama.  But just knowing what my week was shaping up to look like has helped me out so much!  In an amazing way God has prepared me for this week. On Friday I read these verses from the book of James chapter 1:

“Count it all joy my brothers when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.  And let steadfastness have its full effect that you may be perfect and complete lacking in nothing.”

It may seem silly to think of a busy week as a trial, but this Scripture doesn’t say exactly what the trial evolves….it just says various kinds.  I want this week of busyness to mold and make me perfect and complete.  Perfect meaning without sin.  And the sin I’m tempted with in a busy week is impatience, unkindness, un-joyful…..actually just take the Fruit of the Spirit from Galatians 5:22 and 23:

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

Invert all of those fruit and you have my struggle.  But God is faithful.  Read some more in James chapter 1 and find that God will give wisdom to those who lack.  So my prayer this week is that my “trial” will produce steadfast faith and a life full of fruit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment