Growing kids

My children are growing up so fast!  I want to hang on to each moment and savor it for as long as possible.  Time passes so quickly. 

Carlos – my perfectionist.  Boy oh boy is he ever!!  If it’s not perfect he wants to just quit!  So we’re working on that.  But he is doing so much better in school this year.  I’ve seen an amazing difference in his ability to listen, comprehend and learn.  Carlos is excited about learning and he’s doing so much better in his reading.  He actually asks to read more!  He’s beyond excited about starting soccer and I’m excited for him (get out some extra energy).  He will be one of the oldest kids on the team this year and God has blessed Carlos with an amazing ability to play soccer and to play really good!

About a week ago Carlos pulled out his new jeans to wear to church.  I was shocked..…they are too short!  How can that be!!!  I bought these jeans just a few weeks ago…..ok, maybe two months ago……and he’s outgrown them before he’s even had the chance to wear them!!  I decided to check and see if Carlos had really grown since his birthday measurements and sure enough he’s almost an inch taller…..almost an inch in less than 2 months!!

Jeremiah – my finger-snapping-singer.  Yes, that’s right.  After days of practice and diligent study Jeremiah figured out how to snap his fingers!  And there could not be a prouder four-year-old, he just beamed the first time those little fingers snapped.  Now to the singing part…..this boy can learn a song like nobody’s business!!  Music always amazes me because I can’t hear it, but my kids…..they are all about music.  About two weeks ago we were talking about the Fruit of the Spirit.  And on that particular night Peace was the Fruit of discussion.  Very softly Jeremiah began to sing the chorus from the song Peace (from the To Be Like Jesus album from Sovereign Grace Ministries):

Peace, You give me peace
When the storms come and I’m afraid
Peace, You give me peace
When I trust in the words You say
You give me peace

We had only just started listening to this CD about a week before and already he could remember the words AND apply them to the discussion we were having!  Jeremiah has also a great fondness for our geography CD….the continents and oceans are a favorite……although he is a little confused  and thinks that every continent ends with America (North America, South America, Europe America, Asia America……).  But his all time favorite song is the British Isles……oh how he LOVES to crank up the volume for that song……guess he inherited a spot of British blood from Nanny!

(check out my finger snapping)

Natalie – My all time helper.  That would be my little Natalie girl!  She is always ready to lend a hand.  She eagerly helps me fold the laundry EVERY laundry day (I can’t wait until her “folding” is a little more mature, but hey I’m not going to discourage her from helping even if I undo some of her help).  She is always willing and ready to assist Jeremiah with his chores and help Ben when he’s in distress.  Natalie loves to play “mommy” and usually totes a purse, my flops and a few babies around the house!  And following close behind her is the Daddy….aka Jeremiah.  Thankfully he’s a very willing “daddy” and always helps “mommy” with her babies and sundry stuff.

 

Ben – My big mess.  That boy….he’s such a mess!  Or getting into such a mess!!  He does not sit still for a minute and is always in the thick of things.  Ben loves his trains and will happily play with Thomas and friends.  He’s not quite figured out how to put the pieces of the train track together, but usually someone is willing to help him assemble a track.  Ben is my biggest outside kid….LOVES being outside.  Anytime he hears to door open he runs toward the door yelling “shoes, shoes”.  And speaking of shoes….he’s all about shoes….. Mostly Natalie and Jeremiah’s crocs (must be because they are easy to get on)……I guess I really should say he’s all about other peoples shoes and wants nothing to do with his own!  Poor Ben even cried two weeks ago when Stephen put real shoes on him for church.  He was hilarious walking around like his feet were made of lead. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment