Make me a birthday cake

I’m not very artistic….ha….ok, so really I have zero artistic talent.  Coloring in the lines is about my level…..and not much else!!  We have a birthday cake book that my mom passed down to me (she used it when I was little) and my kids LOVE picking out what cake they are going to have for their birthday…..it’s like a highlight of their birthday.  So a few days before Natalie’s birthday, I gave her the book so she could pick what cake design she wanted.  Carlos and Jeremiah were also very interested in what cake she was going to pick out and were very “helpful” with their suggestions and hints.  After a few minutes I realized that she was going to be swayed by their ideas and I really wanted her to pick the cake that she wanted.  So I put the book away until a time that my big boys were not hanging around and then I let Natalie look at the book and make a true choice.  And the cake she picked…..the dog!

Now making Mr. Dog seemed pretty simple…..but simple does not always happen when you have zero artsy ability!!  My first….uhmmmm catastrophe happened when I was removing the sheet cake from the pan…..about 1/3 of the cake decided to “let go” and I was left with only 2/3s of the cake from which I could use to create Mr. Dog.  But for the most part it worked out….he just did not really have a front paw!!  My second trouble spot was his eye.  Every type of candy that I tried just looked odd…..And I never really found a good candy eye.

But in the end, he was a very tasty dog….even if he was a little lopsided and funny looking!!

This entry was posted in Birthdays, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment