A Valentine’s Hijack!

To my wife on Valentines’ Day,

Nine years ago, we sat together in a college classroom, getting to know one another over the semester both in class and out.  As our friendship grew, I was aware of your kind nature, sweet disposition, and of course, your beauty.  When we went our separate ways after college, I was afraid that I might never see you again and that’s when I realized that it was more than just a “just friends” feeling.  I don’t know how many times I read the notes on the seven balled up napkins you had given me just before we said our goodbye.  And every time, it brought a smile to my face just thinking of you.

“God has put a love in my hear for you.”  I had never felt so sure of anything than when I told you these words, albeit rather nervously.  I just HAD to be near you, to get to know better this wonderful woman God had brought into my life.

The day you said “yes” and promised to marry me was a dream come true.  Although if it weren’t for video and photos, I probably wouldn’t remember much of our wedding day, I know the best chapter in my life was just beginning that day.  The most beautiful woman in the world was in my arms and from then on, wouldn’t be very far away.  And even in the times where we were apart physically, in my heart we have never been apart.

You are my best friend.  My heart trusts in you when all others friends would fail.  Watching you mother our children, I fall in love with you all over again.  Even in the ordinary stuff of life, your kindness and beauty shines out.  I know you often think what in the world I find so attractive in you when you exclaim “But I haven’t done my hair or makeup or anything!”  As the country song says, “Honey, I don’t care, I’m not in love with your hair!”

You are my better my half.  You are the person I love to come home to at the end of the day.  When we ask each other at dinner what our favorite part of the day was, for me it is always coming home from work.  Although I love our children very much, it is you most of all that I long to see.  Everything else in my day is nothing in comparison.

So Happy Valentines’ Day, my Sarah.  I love you a little more than yesterday and a little less that tomorrow.

Always and only yours,
Stephen

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment