Christmas Tea Party

Last Tuesday I hosted a baby shower for a friend who’s expecting twin girls in February (so excited for her!!). Natalie really wanted to stay for the shower, but we were expecting 30+ guests and it was going to be a tight squeeze (it turned out great with 20 people, so I had seats for everyone) so I sent her with Stephen and the boys to Oma’s house. After the shower Natalie asked if she could have a party. We don’t do friend birthday parties, so my kids have never really had a party. Without any hesitation I agreed. We set the date, made some plans and today we had a party! Nine little girls came ranging in age from 3 (Jadyn) to 8. It was such a sweet afternoon.

Yes it was pretty cold outside, but just look at these beautiful girls all dressed up for a party!

 

 

A few days ago I decided that it would be fun for the girls to make a “no sew fleece tie pillow”. I have no idea why I decided this would be a good idea, since I zero crafty skills. So Tuesday afternoon the kids and I went to Jo-Ann Fabrics and Natalie picked out the fleece pattern. Then last night I decided perhaps I should look up a video or at least some instructions on how to make a “no sew fleece tie pillow”. I made it about half-way through the video and realized I was WAY in over my head! So I texted my dear crafty friend Ali and asked for her help! She came over today for well over two hours and I am SO thankful!  The pillows turned out super cute and all the girls really seemed to enjoy making them!  Crafty time was a success!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The girls started arriving a little before 3:30 and we started by making Christmas colored bracelets. The bracelet string was pretty ornery and we had a hard time getting them to stay tied, but a small piece of tape did the trick. When all the girls arrived they sat down at the table and decorated a Christmas cookie and then ate their cookie! Of course putting on the sprinkles was their favorite part!! At first the girls were a little quiet, not sure what to do or say at this fancy tea party, but after a few minutes they warmed up and started talking and giggling!

 

 

 

 

 

After cookie eating, some of the girls wanted to finish their bracelets and some went to play in Natalie and Jadyn’s room. I got the pillow craft ready and then we all sat on the living room floor and tied and stuffed the pillows. The girls did a really great job on their pillows. One of the little girls older sister came down and helped the younger girls, but the older girls were able to complete their pillows with no help! I think their favorite part was putting in the stuffing!

After pillow making we had snacks and punch. My nine little girls drank more punch than the 20 ladies who came to the shower 🙂 The time was flying past and by the time snacks were finished, it was almost 5 P.M. The girls went off to play until their mom’s picked them up.

I honestly was a little unsure how the Christmas Tea Party was going to play out. The age difference was pretty big, but I loved how well the girls played and included Jadyn even though she was so much younger. I loved hearing all the little girl conversations. I loved that more than half of the girls called me either mom or Aunt Sarah (which I am technically not mom or aunt to them!!). I loved the giggles. I love how nice they were to one another. I loved that there was zero drama! And I completely enjoyed hosting this little tea party!  Feeling so blessed to be a mommy to two little girls!

This entry was posted in Christmas, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment