Happy Mother’s Day

Children are a blessing from the LORD

 

On this eve of Mother’s Day, I am thankful (ok for honestly sake I am thankful AND tired). I am thankful for the privilege of my children. I am thankful for a little boy who brings me flowers (Ben). I am thankful for a little girl who wraps her arms around my neck and tangles her fingers up in my hair (Jadyn). I am thankful for a big boy who has sincere gratitude for the food I make for him (Carlos). I am thankful for a big girl who slips her hand in mine as we walk and talk together (Natalie). I am thankful for a medium boy who gently rubs my arm and says “I like your new haircut mommy. I didn’t even know who you were! But are you sure you got a haircut because it looks the same to me” (Jeremiah).

These five blessing made me a mommy.

I was looking back at some pictures from before……..from before God brought children to me and remembering…….Remembering the pain. Barron-ness is pain. The longing for what seemed to come so naturally and easy to others. But in pain there is healing. There’s still a scar, a reminder…….not to take these gifts, even one day with these gifts for granted. And when the tiredness comes ( and it will) and I don’t want to get up in the middle of the night yet again, and I don’t want to fill up the water cup, or wash the peed in sheets (stupid water cup), or navigate through another pointless argument……..the scar is a reminder……all of these things are part of the gift, they are part of the healing and the blessing. And every day I have the blessing of loving and caring for these children that God has entrusted to me!

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment