Pity-Party

 

This morning I was having a pretty significant pity-party. You know the kind…..”nobody likes me, everybody hates me I might as well eat mud.” Yep, it was NOT pretty! And then I started turning my blahs on God and blaming Him………nice Sarah, real nice! It looked like this: “Well God, I even read my Bible this morning and there was nothing there to encourage my heart. I mean you know all things, right?!?! You could have pointed me to a passage to uplift me, but instead Revelation 4 was on my reading schedule.” And I’m rather ashamed to say, on and on I went.

But God, who is faithful to give us exactly what we need gently brought my attention back to Revelation Chapter 4, specifically verses 8-11:

And the four living creatures, each of them with six wings, are full of eyes all around and within, and day and night they never cease to say,

“Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord God Almighty,
who was and is and is to come!”

And whenever the living creatures give glory and honor and thanks to him who is seated on the throne, who lives forever and ever, 10 the twenty-four elders fall down before him who is seated on the throne and worship him who lives forever and ever. They cast their crowns before the throne, saying,

11 “Worthy are you, our Lord and God,
to receive glory and honor and power,
for you created all things,
and by your will they existed and were created.”

Day and night, they don’t stop. This is continual worship. This is what was wrong with me this morning! I needed to worship the Lord God Almighty, not myself! God gave me exactly what I needed to hear. God alone is worthy of my worship.

“Thank you holy God that you are worthy to receive glory and honor and power and that your word is powerful and sharp.”

 

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment