Just a few hairs

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about hair.  Several weeks ago someone said that they thought hair was my hobby.  And I think it’s true.  I enjoy finding new styles and products for my girls’ hair.   So here’s a peek into some of my favorite styles:

Finger coils – work fabulously in Jadyn’s hair!  They are what I call a two popsicle hair style.  Why?!?!  Because I can get them done in the time it takes Jadyn to eat two popsicles! Finger coils will last a good two weeks in Jadyn’s hair.  I usually need to re-coil the right side of her head (she sleeps more on that side) and perhaps a coil here and there, but it’s a great style for an active 2 year old.  And……bonus…..sand washes right out of finger coiled hair!!

I’ve never really tried doing finger coils on Natalie’s hair (totally different textures going on with my girls), but I have coiled a high-pony.  It turned out super cute.  Natalie liked it because the coils made her pony feel more “free flowing”  and gave some weight to her hair.  Sadly, it only lasted a couple of days, but it was cute.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not a huge fan of “puffs” for Jadyn.  Not sure why…..maybe it just looks funny having these big curly blobs on her head.  But when I’m tired of other “dos” I make puffs.  Usually I mess around with some other part of her hair, so she has “puffs plus” something else.  One style I did this summer was four puffs on top and twists in the back that were weighed with beads.  The two far side twists I attached at the back with a snap.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I very rarely (read that as basically never) braid Jadyn’s hair…….twists are my friend!  Braiding takes FOREVER to put in and equally FOREVER to take out!  Plus every time you cross strands of hair over each other it’s an opportunity for those stands of hair to become tangled. I can do twists much faster.  They probably don’t last as long as a braid, but the time saved is worth it.

Parting – I wish I could part, but honestly I royally stink at parting.  It’s very hard to practice parting on Jadyn’s head because she does not sit still, so I gave a zig-zag part a try on Natalie’s hair.  It was a good effort, but needs a TON more practice.

Mostly I figured out how to get the zig-zag, but her faux French braids were VERY off centered……Oops………yep my parting skills need some big time improvement.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This summer I decided to do some yarn extensions in Jadyn’s hair.  It took several days to get them in, but boy were they cute.  Jadyn loved the feel of her long hair.  That’s the biggest complaint about curly hair…..the shrinkage.  Jadyn’s extensions were just a bit longer than her natural hair……hard to believe it when you see her hair “down” because it looks so short since it’s so tightly coiled.  She wore the extensions down with clips and snaps on the bottom.  I put her hair in French braids.  I left them in for about 3 ½ weeks……WAY too long apparently because much to my horror several of the stands broke completely off!!  I’m still not sure what caused them to break and have been afraid to try extensions again!!

Yes, the part in the middle is Jadyn’s natural hair……completely broken off at the base.

 

 

While I’m scared of doing extensions in Jadyn’s hair, last week I put them in Natalie’s hair.  It took about 5 hours and three different settings, but it turned out super cute. I really like how the multi-color yarn adds such variety and color to her hair.  I think I will only leave them in for about another week just in case.

 

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a few hairs

  1. Stacy says:

    CUTE! I’m impressed that you even TRIED a zig-zag part. I have never been able to master triangular or zig-zaggy parts. I stick with a part down the middle and squared off sections from there- but it is hands-down my least favorite part of doing hair- the sectioning. (Adelia dislikes it, too.)

    Love the finger coils. It’s adorable. And YIPES about Jadyn’s hair falling out with the yarn extensions! I’ve heard of that happening but that never happened to us. And I have left them in WAY longer than that (try 6 wks!) Must be a hair texture thing.

    I love hair talk and I totally get that it’s a fun hobby. 🙂 You’re doing great!
    ~Stacy

    • Wow, 6 weeks! That is awesome. I wish I knew what went wrong because I would like to try again. Do you moisturize or wash when you leave the extensions in that long? I’m wondering if swimming (chlorine) had anything to do with it. I think it would really help too if I could get Jadyn to leave on her sleeping cap……or if I could just keep track of it!!

Leave a comment