Pencils

When you parent kids from “hard places” you never know what sorts of strange and bizarre things your kids will become obsessed with………… and consequently drive you to the brink of insanity.  My child loves pencils. They are like a security blanket to him.  During normal waking hours of the day, when we are at home, 90% of the time he carries around a pencil.  He loves to sharpen pencils……and sharpen them, and sharpen them……until they are nubs.  He loves to bit them, chew them, pick the paint/colored paper off them.

Now you might be reading this paragraph and be thinking, “Really Sarah…..lame.  This is not so bad, get a grip.”  But it’s not really those things that drive be nut-so.  It’s the fact that pencils are deposited all over my house.  At any given moment you can find probably enough pencils on the floors, tables, or counters to build a small village.  And the shavings from the sharpening……EVERYWHERE!!

I am sure there is probably some deep psychological reason for this pencil obsession, but I haven’t the faintest idea.  All I know is that I really ought to buy stock in pencils!

This entry was posted in Adoption, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment