Mystery Solved

When we moved back to the “big house” in August, we decided to leave off the crib rail on Jadyn’s bed (no worries safety people, the bed was made to have one side removed).  Honestly I wanted to put her in a twin bed, but we thought perhaps we should do a test run first!  For about 2 weeks everything was fine, then she started falling out of bed.  First it was just once or twice a night, but then it got so bad she was falling out 4 or 5 times a night……so bad that we decided to put her crib mattress on the floor.  But would you know, she was still “falling” off the mattress and would end up sleeping on the floor all night long!  This was bewildering to me…..how can you go from sleeping just fine to falling out of bed multiple times every night!!?!?!

So Stephen and I decided to put the rail back on the crib…….. but then I had a thought.  When we first set up the crib and I made up the bed, I put her pillow on the left (the bottom of the bed) so she could easily see Natalie across the room……Jadyn was now sleeping on the right (or the top of the bed).  I’m not sure why or how or WHO moved her pillow, but it was moved.  So I decided to give it one more night and switched her pillow back to the bottom of the bed.  Now, 2 weeks later she’s not once fallen out of bed!  Mystery solved.  I guess she has a tendency to roll to her right in her sleep and when she was sleeping at the top that meant rolling out of bed, but now she just rolls to the other crib rail and no more “face meet floor”.  This my friends is the glamor of parenting!

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment