Blue Grotto

I don’t know how people homeschooled before the internet.  I mean, I know they did……especially considering we are a second generation homeschooling family.  In my home, growing up, we didn’t even have a computer until I was 17 or 18, so internet was definitely not used in my homeschool experience.  But honestly, I love how the internet, YouTube in particular, opens up a whole new world for my kids.  They get to experience not just by their imaginations, but through the experience (video) of others some pretty awesome things.

This week we finished reading our first chapter book for history (we use Sonlight), Red Sails to Capri. Honestly it’s not my favorite book, not a lot of fast action, but my middle kids really liked it.  At the end of the book the main character discovers the famous Blue Grotto, a sea cave on the coast of Island of Capri.  So we used the handy-dandy internet to look for some pictures of this famous Blue Grotto and WOW, it is amazing.  Then I used YouTube and we watched several home videos of tourist visiting the Blue Grotto.  It was SO much fun.  We will probably never visit Italy, but this week we got to see a glimpse of one of her spectacular natural attractions all for free from our living room.

This entry was posted in School of Smooches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment