What does Peaceful and Quiet mean to you?

It was quiet and peaceful……perhaps a little too quiet.  But I just wanted to get two or three more items scratched off my list so I ignored the warning going off in my head……”it’s quiet and that means trouble”.  I only had a few minutes before Stephen would arrive home and I would leave for my bi-weekly sanity hour……a fabulous evening full of encouragement and adult conversation!

I should have been warned when Natalie came into the house and said, “mommy the boys have water in the sandbox.”  No big deal!  They get water all the time for building castle, mountains and giant unknown creations.  Very absentmindedly, I told Natalie, “oh yeah, sweetie, I told Jeremiah he could get some water.”  And off I went to get the next thing done.

Which just happened to be in the kitchen.  And I heard water running from the hose……lots of water…….not just a pitcher full of water…….running and running…….oh no!

Oh yes!  Happily, the boys had turned the sandbox into a swimming pool!  I wanted to scold and fuss, but after all I HAD given permission to put water in the sandbox!!  And poor Stephen got stuck with the cleanup (which included soaking wet tennis shoes) because I was off for my sanity night!

 

 

  

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment