Home Invasion

For the past 6 weeks or so, we’ve had a plethora of uninvited guests that have taken up residency in and around our home.  Probably if you live in this area they’ve taken a liking to your home too!  Yep, lovely stink bugs!  I’m pretty sure they believe that our home is their final resting ground…..they seem to pile up at the doors keel over and die.  But much sadder is the fact that they have somehow found their way INTO our house.

Which brings me to Sunday morning.  We were in church, Stephen was singing with the praise group so it was just Carlos, Natalie and Ben with me (it was Jeremiah’s Sunday to sit with my mom……my kids LOVE their Sunday to sit with Oma!!).  Ben was being quite the……uhhhmmmm……handful, so I was not paying very much attention to Natalie, but I knew she was picking at her tights.  This was the first Sunday she’s worn tights since early spring, so I figured the newness was just bothering her. 

Then I started smelling……THE SMELL…….that nasty stink bug smell.  Quickly I check Ben over to be sure he had not somehow dragged in a live bug and then somehow smashed it….nope Ben was definitely bug free.

As I’m checking Ben out, Natalie starts tugging at my arm frantically…..and whispering loudly, “mommy I have a stink bug in my tights.”  Sure enough she did!  Poor girl had crushed that bug inside her tights and before he kicked the bucket he emitted that horrid smell.  Well you know when something like this happens in church it’s much funnier than any other time……it was all I could do not laugh.

So next week we will try to arrive at church stink bug free!!

This entry was posted in Kid Funny, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment