“Preckles”

I was in a hurry yesterday.

I only had a couple of minutes before we needed to head out the door to take Carlos to soccer practice.  And as I was in the bathroom rather absentmindedly applying my makeup, Jeremiah was keeping me company, chatting away.  He stopped talking for a second and them asked, “mommy, what’s that for?” pointing to my powder brush.  And I replied, “oh it’s powder to make my face beautiful”.  Jeremiah looked at me for a second and then replied, “but your face is beautiful mommy.”  I realized that perhaps in my absentmindedness I had said something a little bit wrong, but time was ticking, so I just replied, “Well, thank you Jeremiah”.  He was still looking very intently at my face……as only a 4 year old can do.  Then he scrunched up his nose and said, “Well…….you do still have those dots!”  I stopped what I was doing and explained to him that those “dots” are called freckles.  “oh!” Jeremiah replies, “I thought they were called moles”.  I really had no time to dive into the finer points of dermatology so I decided that further explanation was time prohibitive.  But apparently Jeremiah was not done with this conversation because with quite the authoritative voice he informs me, “You have “preckles” because God made you have “preckles”……..Yep, from the mouth of babes.

 

This entry was posted in Kid Funny, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment