That stinks

I  have a huge pet peeve……well I’m not sure pet peeve is the right term.  But anyway…….stinky towels……there’s just something very, very wrong about towels that smell bad.   It’s just not right to be fresh and clean from a shower only to dry off on a towel that’s………not, or at least smells less than clean.  Over the past months I’ve noticed that after one use our towels were just plain ol stinky.  And when you have 6 people bathing that adds up to a lot of towels……so we recycle.  Hanging up the towel to dry and using it again……great way to reduce laundry.  But our towels were smelling awful after one day…..gross.

So my options were three:

1. pitch all my towels and buy new
2. live with the stink
3. figure out a way to remove the smell

So, #1, too much money and these towels are only 3 years old.  Option #2….well that just not a viable option, so that left me with #3.

A few months ago my friend LouAnne  recommended using white vinegar in place of bleach…….so I decided to give vinegar a shot.  Perhaps if the vinegar could act as a whitening agent it could also act as a deodorizer and eliminate my smelly towels.  I was hesitant at first….afraid that the vinegar might “bleach” out the color in my towels.  But about a month ago I filled my washing machine with towels and added some vinegar.

And what a pleasant surprise!!  My towels smell fresh and clean for days….Yippee!!  No more sour/wet dog smell.  And the vinegar does not “bleach” out the color.  So…..bye, bye stinky towels.

This entry was posted in Life, Works for Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment