Baby #5

So, a few weeks ago when I did this post about my birthday, I kinda held out on ya……I got another gift…….. a very important gift………a gift that, aside from seeing my little bed bugs all snuggled up in my bed, was the best gift EVER!  Stephen gave me this poem:

A long time ago
We were talking one night
About our dreams of a family
And what size was “just right”.

I said, “four or five”
You said, “five or six”
So it only seems good
To take the number betwixt

You’ve prayed and you’ve prayed
For me to get my but going
To want another child—
Our children are fast growing!

But I just wasn’t sure
I could handle any more
Even though God’s provided
With our wonderful four!

But as I learn to depend
On God every day
He’s giving me confidence
And the desire to say

“Sarah, not only is it
A good thing to do
But having another child
Is what I want too.”


And it’s true…..for the past 9 months (or more) I have been fervently praying that God would grow a desire for another child in Stephen’s heart.  I really wanted it to be a desire placed there by God and not just Stephen trying to get me off his back   And God answered that prayer!!  Of course if I was God I would have answered my prayers months ago, but God used those months to grow me in learning contentment and to grow our family in learning more about serving each other.

Ok, so I’ll admit it……my heart is pulled to adoption.  Even when I found out that I was pregnant with Ben, there was a  teensy-weensy part of me that was sad…….don’t get me wrong…..I would not trade my Ben-boy for any other baby and I’m very thankful that God allowed me the opportunity to experience pregnancy……..but……..there is something about adoption that just captures my heart.  And I am so thankful that God is giving us the privilege of adopting again.

So here’s the rest of the scoop.  We are adopting domestically and are using the same placing agency that we used for Natalie’s adoption (Love them!!).  We are in the process of re-doing our home-study……third time’s a charm!!   Which will also explain why I’ve not really blogged in over a month……paperwork takes T-I-M-E!  We have gotten all of our paperwork sent to our home-study agency and they are reviewing it and hopefully we will meet with our social worker soon….I’m praying for a meeting next week, but that might be a little too optimistic.

Once our home-study is completed than our placing agency can start to show our family profile to birthmoms and we wait.  We didn’t actually have a waiting time with Natalie, sooooo I’ve never waited with kids at home…….we waited for Jeremiah’s referral for 7 months, but we had no kids.  So the waiting will be a little different this time around.  But God knows our baby.  He know when he or she will be born.  And as we wait we are praying……… praying for our baby’s birthfamily………praying that we will be ready for what God has in store for our family…….praying that we will bond with our new baby…….And the girls are praying for a baby sister for Natalie


So, that’s the scoop!


This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment