Adopton Round One — Drama at Immigration

In February we were #28 on the waiting list……and our finger prints were forever on file with the government.


Friday February 18th – FBI finger printing day!  We finally received our appointment day to do our federal fingerprints…..the last step before we can be granted our FDL…..Favorable Determination Letter……the final step.  I tend to be a tiny bit camera happy.  And this day was no exception.  This was a monumental day for us and I wanted pictures of it!!  And as soon as we entered the building I checked…..not a single sign stating that cameras were forbidden……. There were signs saying no food or drinks, no talking on cell phones and stuff like that, but nothing about taking pictures!

We filled out a few forms, got a number and waited some more.  They called Stephen’s number first, so he went to the front of the room where several computers were set up and the girl started to do his fingerprints.  They didn’t use ink, but you put your fingers on a glass mouse pad like area and your print shows up on the screen.

Stephen had the camera around his neck and this man walks over to him and says in this authoritative and nasty tone, “what are you doing?”  Well Stephen was just standing there waiting for the girl to finish typing in the info so he said, “Standing here”.  Well, the guy started lambasting Stephen about the camera and said that pictures were not allowed and not to take anymore.  I was so scared he would confiscate my camera or worse throw us out and refuse to do our prints!! Sadlyt we did not get any more pictures (and I felt terrible that Stephen got the lecture since I am the camera happy one), but we were not about to argue.  The entire time all I could think was that they would refuse to take our pints because we broke the rule and brought our camera…..the unwritten rule that was not posted anywhere on the building or the paperwork!!!!!

After a little while, they called my number and I went and had my prints done.  The man doing my prints hardly spoke any English and he understood about as much as he spoke!  He did ask if I was adopting 2 or 3 children, but I assured him that we were adopting only one!  This part of the story is so hilarious to me.  This man asked better than he knew!  Only God knew that our one would turn into His two!

The only two criminal pictures that I had the chance to take

 

And speaking of two……………………well………….why not come back tomorrow for more on that

This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment