Just One Day

Seven months….that’s it.  That’s all the time that God gave.  Oh how I wish He had designed more.  And why in His plan did He choose for us to wait for years and then only give seven months.  I wonder.  It makes me sad.  And a little angry too.

I can imagine them….walking down to the beach on crisp Autumn morning with fishing gear in tow.  My little black haired boy talking a million miles a minute.  I can almost see his strong hands reaching to take out a worm or squid and then with an even tone reminding an excited little boy that too much talking will scare off the fish.  One set of strong knowledgeable hands guiding the small brown hands, teaching, instructing, loving. I wonder why only seven months?  Why was there no Autumn together. It makes me sad.

 

Off they go for a visit to the barn.  Really, it’s a visit to see the tractor.  A tractor loving 4 year-old who does not say that much with words, but the light in his eyes say it all.  I can almost see him looking down with a smile at this quiet little boy enjoying the excitement he sees illuminated in his face.  Words are not needed to bring camaraderie between the two. I wonder.  It makes me sad.  And a little angry too.

I can see his work hardened hands gently smoothing out her wild curls. Listening intently as she tells of some adventure, reading through a mile high stack of books, eating pretend food that she cooked up or laughing together…… Oh how he would have loved her.  He loved his girls. I wonder why…..only seven months. It makes me sad.

A little boy who looks just like him…..his name sake.  A child he prayed for, although he never held.  I can picture them together and hear the little belly laugh and see the chubby legs go running as the “monster” gives chase.  I can imagine them walking along together.  A tiny hand safe and secure in his strong hand.  And I think, if only…..if only for a day we could be together.

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment