Look who’s 8!

The day Carlos thought would never arrive…but it did!  And the day dawned early…..6:30 am.  Davy and Zachary spent the night with Carlos and Davy woke Carlos up with a punch to the tummy….apparently he told Davy to wake him up that way…..I’m guessing you have to be an 8-year-old boy to make any sense out of that wake up call!!

Carlos had requested a big breakfast for his birthday, but since we need to leave the house before 9 am, I told him that the big breakfast would be postponed to a later morning.  So as a surprise I bought him Coco Puffs.  Carlos begs (and asks very nicely) for Coco Puffs every few times we got to the grocery store, but I’ve always said no.  It just does not seem right to eat a cereal that turns your milk into chocolate milk at the crack of dawn!!   Carlos was SO excited about his special breakfast.

We left our house just before 9 and headed out to the movie theater.  The free movie this week, I thought, was Madacacar 2, but sadly I looked at the wrong theater!!  So we got to see Alvin and the Chipmunks.  It was slightly crazy watching a movie with Ben, but thankfully he slept though about half of the movie (small gain from getting up early).  After the movie we went to Chick-fil-A for lunch! 

While the kiddos napped, I made Carlos’ cake.  He picked out the turkey made with Funfetti cake.  It was a very simple design and I had fun making it!! 

For dinner Carlos selected Hamburgers, spicy French Fried potatoes, veggies and watermelon.  After dinner Carlos opened his gifts.  His big gift this year was a soccer goal for the yard and a new soccer ball (he’s old ball was a hand-me-down that was getting a bit worn out).  He also got several other small gifts and a pair of goggles.  Carlos told Stephen a few days ago that he wanted a pair of goggles “for my nose”!!  Meaning mask goggles with a snorkel.  It was a fun birthday!!

Hunting for his gifts

New soccer ball (with slightly envious little brother in the back ground)

Thanks little sis for my toy motorcycle!!

Reading my birthday cards

This entry was posted in Birthdays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment