Works for me Wednesday on a Monday

Cooking with kids

My son Jeremiah LOVES to cook.  And anytime I start making something in the kitchen he’s there watching with a hawk’s eye and trying to sneak a stir, or lick or taste or something!!  Well on Saturday we were making breakfast for dinner and in true form Jeremiah appears.  Stephen was frying the bacon and I was making the biscuits.  I did not have a lot of time to let him “help” (since his “help” usually makes the cooking take twice as long), so I decided to let him make his own biscuits.  So I got out a little bowl, handed him a spoon and added some flour for him to stir.  Natalie also likes to be in the kitchen, not so much for the cooking, she just likes being close to her mama.  Jeremiah was having a blast….stirring like there was no tomorrow.  Natalie also wanted a bowl like her big brother, so I gave one to her.  After a few minutes of stirring the flour I added a few drops of food coloring to each bowl…Natalie got red and Jeremiah green.  Then they each poured some water into their bowl…loved that!!  And were so happy turning their goop green and pink.

What’s the moral of this tale…short on time….give your kids some flour, water and food coloring for 30 minutes of cooking fun.


Oh and although Jeremiah is a bit of a messy cook, he also cleaned up all the flour he spilt…and did it without me asking!!

This entry was posted in Works for Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment