Celebrating Adoption

November is National Adoption Awareness month and to celebrate adoption I thought I would post how adoption has changed our lives.

The first miracle of adoption:  we became parents.  After months and years of waiting God answered our prayers and gave us a tiny baby boy.  Here is the first glimpse we received of our precious Jeremiah

……oh well maybe you should read the story first.

Tuesday July 12, 2005 – Today is a day that I will never forget!  It was about 3:00 P.M. and I had just gotten back from a meeting away from the office and had just sat down at my desk when I saw Stephen’s phone number come up on my caller ID.  I answered the phone and

Stephen said, “Hi, how are you?”

but he sounded very strange and breathy and was kind of stuttering. 

I said, I’m doing fine!

 and he said, “I got a call”,

I said, “you got a call?”

Stephen, “Yes, the call”. 

Sarah, “THE CALL!!”.

Stephen said YES!!!! THE CALL

I was in total shock.  I was not expecting the call until next week and we got it today.  Stephen said that his office was empty and that I could come over right then and that the adoption coordinator had emailed pictures to us.  I went searching for my boss to let him know that I was going to take a late lunch, but I could not find a single person in our department, so I sent him an email and took off!

As I was walking out to the parking lot, I was shaking and got sooooooooo thirsty, my mouth was like cotton.  I got into the car and there was a bottle of water left over from yesterday.  Sooooo, even though it was about 95 degrees in the car, I still took a sip.  I drove as fast as I could to Stephen’s office and broke a few speeding laws in the process.  I was going to get a picture of my little son, yippee!  I finally got to the office and Stephen was waiting outside on the side-walk.  As soon as he jumped into the car I started peppering him with questions.  

Stephen got the call at 2:55.  The adoption coordinator had called his cell, but got a bad connection, so she called him back on the land line.  She said, “I have a boy for you!”  She gave Stephen the particulars, born June 20, 2005 weighing in at 5 lbs. and 15 oz, 18.8 inches long with lots of black hair.

We parked the car and I was asking Stephen lots of questions and could not get him to answer them fast enough.  He wanted to tell me all about how it happened, but I only wanted to hear about the baby!!  We finally make it up to his office and went in and closed the door and Stephen pulled up his email.

We had planned to look at the medical info first, but we just couldn’t help ourselves, we just had to look at the pictures.  We pulled up the first picture and our little guy was so cute and had so much hair!  We looked at all 10 pictures and then looked over the medical report and then looked back at the pictures.  It was like a dream.  By the time we looked at the pictures the 3rd time it was finally starting to sink in, this is our little boy!

Jeremiah — 4 days old

About 2 weeks old

We were sitting in Stephen’s office looking at the pictures for about the 4th time and I said rather out of the blue, “Honey, why don’t we name him Jeremiah Blake” (we had already decided on the Blake part of his name).  Stephen looked at me and said the name and said, “I like it”!  I don’t know what made me think of Jeremiah, but it just popped into my head. 
Wow, what a day!

This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment