Wild Ride

Well we had a bit of a wild ride this morning!  Since Saturday morning I’ve been a little concerned that I was loosing amniotic fluid.  Since the leaking was not gushing or constant I was not overly concerned until last night.  Then I really had a freak out moment.  So this morning I called my doctor and left a voicemail to see what I should do.  The nurse called me back and said that they wanted to see me right away for a sonogram and then a check with my Droctor.  So off we headed to the doctor.  Thankfully Stephen was able to meet us there and came for the visit and to help out with the kids.  The lady doing the sonogram said that Ben weighs about 7 pounds and 13 oz!!  Wow, that’s much bigger than I thought he would be, but you never really know until he arrives!!

Side note:  On the way in to town we passed 15 or 20 police vehicles flying down the road with lights flashing.  Carlos was loving every minute of that!!  Ferrum College was on lockdown because of a possible shooting (though now it looks like there was not a shooting, just a suspect with a possibility of a gun….scary anyway).  I’ve never seen so many police going the same direction at one time!  Well Carlos was talking a mile a minute about police and how he wanted to be a police when he grew up.  Or fly a helicopter or cut down trees or be a daddy!  I loved that part!!  He said, “or maybe I’ll be a daddy”.  I told him that sometimes people are able to me more than just one thing, like his papa is a daddy and works with numbers.  Carlos said, “oh, so I can be a police and a daddy!!”  I think he was pretty happy about that!!

Back to the main story:  So after the sonogram I saw my doctor and he did the exam and said that it did not look like amniotic fluid, but that maybe I had an infection.  He said that based on the sonogram the fluid levels were not good, but not bad either, just Ok.  So they did the labs and it came back….no amniotic fluid and no infection.  So we’re going back on Thursday for another sonogram and check just to be sure nothing has changed with the amniotic fluid levels.  If the amniotic fluid has decreased  than we will go to the hospital and be induced, if they are the same or better, we’ll go home and wait some more!  Of course I’m hoping to go into labor any second and avoid all of this anyway!!

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment