Surgery Update

Quick update:  Jeremiah had his surgery this morning and all went smooth!

Long version!

Jeremiah was very quiet when we arrived at the surgery center.  I’m pretty sure he knew something was up and it was not going to be that much fun.  He even told Stephen that he was scared.  Poor little guy!  They called us back and took more info, his blood pressure and vitals and had me dress him in the little gown.  Then the doctors, his ENT doc and the anesthesiologist came and talked with us for a few minutes.  Then it was time to go to the OR.  I took Jeremiah back (they let one parent go back while they put the kids to sleep).  Jeremiah did really very good.  He lay quietly on the table and did not fight at all!  The anesthesiologist said that was the easiest 2 year old he has ever had!

It was really hard for me though!!  Carrying my sweet little baby back was terrible.  I just had to focus on not becoming the patient….operating rooms give me the creeps!  I also felt horrible knowing that I was letting something icky happen to my baby….I know it will make him better, but still!  The staff was super nice and very helpful, so that did make it better.

The surgery only lasted about 30 minutes and then about 30 minutes after that they let both me and Stephen go back to the recovery room and stay with Jeremiah.  Poor little guy.  He was really out of it and not very happy at all!  Once he saw us, it made him 100 times better and he snuggled right down on Stephen’s chest and fell sound asleep!  We stayed in recovery about an hour an half before going home.  Poor Jeremiah looked so pitiful, but really he was doing very good.  It’s just so hard to see your baby sick.

Jeremiah is still in some pain and probably will be for a few days, but he is sleeping now and getting good rest!

Oh yeah, and tonight Carlos asked me who in our family was going to have surgery next!  I said, “hopefully we are done with surgeries for a good long time.”  Three surgeries in 18 months is plenty!

Thank you for praying!! 

at the surgery center in recovery


Sound asleep on the couch tonight

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment