Finger Prints

Ok, so I’m taking the easy way out and doing a little copy/paste today.  This is our “Finger Printing” story:

FridayFebruary 18th – We left this morning at 11:00 A.M. and started thedrive down to Charlotte for our FBI finger printing session!  Wegot to the finger printing place just after 2 P.M. and the funny part– the building was just about two blocks from the hotel we stayed atfor our second anniversary when we came to Charlotte to go to Six Flagsand the Lotta Plantation!

I took mycamera, of course, because I wanted to take as many pictures of eachevent that happens with the adoption for my scrapbook.  We wentinto the medium size room and had to fill out some info and show ourdriver’s licensees and then we waited.  While we were filling outthe paperwork, I took a picture of Stephen and he took a picture ofme!  We were very much in the minority being white!  Most ofthe people waiting were either Hispanic or Asian.  I’m sure theythought we were crazy taking pictures and being so happy about gettingour fingerprints done!!

We each gota number and waited some more.  They finally called out Stephen’snumber first, so he went to the front of the room where they had thecomputers set up and the girl started to do his fingerprints. They don’t use ink anymore, but you put your fingers on a glass mousepad like area and your print shows up on the screen.  Stephen hadthe camera around his neck and this man goes over to him and asks him“what are you doing”.  Well Stephen was just standing therewaiting for the girl to finish typing in the info and he said,“Standing here”.  Well, the guy was really ugly about it and saidthat pictures were not allowed and not to take anymore.  I waspretty sad about that, but we were not about to argue.  Thestrange part was that they had signs saying, not food or drinks, notalking on cell phones and stuff like that, but nothing about takingpictures!

After alittle while, they called my number and I went and had my printsdone.  The man doing my prints hardly spoke any English and heunderstood about as much as he spoke!  He did ask if I wasadopting 2 or 3children, but I assured him that we were adopting only 1 thistime!  It took about 15 minutes to do the actual finger printingand then we were done!

Every time I read that paragraph I just have to laugh!  We were so sure we were only adding one baby boy to our family.

This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment