My Daddy

When I was a kid we had this HUGE front yard.  And onlawn-mowing-Saturday, my daddy would go out and he would mow paths inthe grass for us on one side of the yard.  So while he mowed theother side, we would play and run in the paths that he made forus.  He would make crazy zigzagging and twisting path….we lovedit!!

As Stephen and I stood beside his hospital bed on Thursday, sayinggood-bye, God put this memory into my mind.  I realized that whileI only had my daddy for 28 years, he by example made a path for me inlife.  My daddy was the most faithful man I’ve ever known. He was faithful in reading the Scriptures, going to church and livingfor Jesus.  He showed me what it looked like to live forChrist.  He showed me the narrow path that leads to life….eternallife.  

I miss my daddy.  That sounds almost dumb, but I don’t know howelse to express the emptiness that I feel.  So many times in thepast few days I’ve looked around hunting for my dad, only to realizethat all the planning and hubbub is because he’s no longer here onearth.  I miss him so SO much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment