11 Years of welded bliss

 

(please forgive the out of focus faces……that’s what we get for using the timer setting……the leaves got the focus)

On Saturday Stephen and I celebrated 11 years of marriage by painting the entire upstairs of our house!! Real romantics right?  Haha  I knew the next few weeks were going to be super busy with no “free” evening, so I really wanted to be able to spend Sunday afternoon with just Stephen.  But I had five little “problems” and my mom and sisters are all still out of town.  Several baby-sitter possibilities fell through and I was pretty sure our date afternoon was not going to be possible, but praise God my dear friend Marion was able to watch the kids. 

Stephen knew nothing of my plans!! I love surprising him.  On our way to church he said, “I’m going to need to spend several hours this afternoon studying……is that ok?”  “Sure” I said, “Not a problem”.  All the time giggling to myself that he’s not actually going to get ANY studying done!!

After church we collect the kids from the playground (yes,they went to church and AFTER went to the playground) and load up the van.  Stephen was walking to the driver side when I very sweetly inform him that I’m driving “home” today!  We, of course, don’t go home, but to our friends house to drop off the kids, who btw were stoked about spending an afternoon playing at someone else’s house.

Stephen and I first went to check out the Nissan NV…….our van is going to kick the bucket before too long and this is our dream van.  Since the dealership is closed on Sundays it was the perfect time to snoop around without any sales people!  And we left the lot all the more sure that the NV is our “dream van”.  Someday soon we’ll go back for a test drive.  But it was so fun checking out all the features and smelling that “new car” smell.

Want to see what our “dream van” looks like?  Check out this awesome view!  And if you are van shopping click here for a great review.

Our next stop was the Olive Garden for some tasty chicken alfredo to-go.  Our “to-go” destination was Mill Mountain or as the kids call it, Star Mountain.  When Stephen and I were dating it was one of our favorite places…..we even had a bench……our bench.  And would you know, it’s still there and that’s where we ate our lunch.  Funny how when you are dating, you can sit and talk about nothing for hours on end.  We only had about an hour and we crammed MANY topics of conversation in that hour!!

 

The next destination on our date was Lowe’s.  I mean really, it’s not a date unless you visit Lowe’s right?  But it was a fun Lowe’s date.  One of our conversation topics just happened to be kitchen counter tops and we decided that yes,replacement was a good idea, so this trip was all about picking out new counters for the kitchen!  Even though we won’t be enjoying them for long (God willing), it’s still fun to see how much anew counter will change the look of the kitchen.

It may not have been the most romantic of anniversary dates, but it was a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

The view from our lunch spot!  I love Virginia.

If you want to read other anniversary posts click here 🙂

This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11 Years of welded bliss

  1. Lora Lynn says:

    The best anniversaries are so often the ones we just spend Being Together, right? Fingers crossed for that new van some day!

  2. Pingback: Why my 8 year old likes reading the Classifieds | House of Smooches

Leave a comment